The 1st of January will not just bring the end of 2020 but it will signify the end of a decade that has brought a lot of success for English cricket.

It’s seen the Three Lions rise to the top of the Test, ODI, and T20I rankings, claim multiple Ashes series wins – including the first down under since 1986/87 – and win major tournaments in both the men’s and women’s games.

As we close in on the end of the 2010s, the ICC have revealed their Awards of the Decade, which recognise the best players across the sport for the past 10 years.

The Awards Nominations Committee included journalists, analysts, statisticians, broadcasters, and former players from across the globe, with their decisions based upon “on-field performances and overall achievements for at least five years during the period”. Fans were allowed to vote for the first time in some categories.

So, how have England players fared?

The individual awards

Shaun Botterill/Getty Images Sport

Despite multiple nominations, no England players won individual awards.

Joe Root was included on the seven-player shortlist for the Sir Garfield Sobers Award for ICC Male Cricketer of the Decade, which recognised the best overall performer across all three formats, but India’s Virat Kohli has been named the winner.

Sarah Taylor was England’s only representative on the six-strong shortlist for the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Award for ICC Female Cricketer of the Decade, which recognised the best overall performer across all three formats, but Australia’s Ellyse Perry claimed it.

Root and Jimmy Anderson were both nominated for the ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Decade but Australia’s Steve Smith won the award. It is frankly mystifying that Stuart Broad wasn’t shortlisted having taken 415 Test wickets during the qualifying period – more than any of the bowlers nominated.

No England player was nominated for either the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade or the Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade, which were won by Kohli and Afghanistan’s Rashid Khan respectively.

There were no England players nominated for ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Decade but Anya Shrubsole was shortlisted for the ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Decade, with Perry also scooping both those awards.

Teams of the Decade

Gareth Copley/Getty Images Sport

The Teams of the Decade were composed by the voting academy of journalists and broadcasters.

Sir Alastair Cook, Ben Stokes, Stuart Broad, and Jimmy Anderson were all named in the ICC Men’s Test Team of the Decade, with Joe Root somehow missing out despite scoring more runs than anyone else over the last 10 years and being nominated as one of the Test Cricketers of the Decade. Yeah, we couldn’t work that one out either!

Stokesy was the only Englishman named in the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Decade, a strange decision considering the number of talented white-ball players to pull on the Three Lions over the past 10 years.

Sarah Taylor was England’s sole representative in the ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Decade, which again seemed to have a few eyebrow-raising omissions.

Somehow, there were no England players included in the ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Decade. The inclusion of MS Dhoni over a certain wicketkeeper-batsman that many consider revolutionised white-ball batting seems a little strange.

England were represented in the ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Decade, however, with Anya Shrubsole included in the XI.

Keen to see England when crowds return? Make sure you’re a member so you can buy tickets with the Barmy Army