England announce 16-strong squad for Sri Lanka T20 series - Barmy Army Menu
Surjeet Yadav/Getty Images Sport

England announce 16-strong squad for Sri Lanka T20 series

England have announced their 16-strong squad for the upcoming T20 series against Sri Lanka, which gets underway on Wednesday the 23rd of June.

Among the notable inclusions are Chris Woakes, who last played an IT20 game in November 2015, Liam Dawson, who is in line to make his first IT20 appearance since 2018, and David Willey, who hasn’t represented England in the format since 2019.

Stu Forster/Getty Images Sport

The multi-format players rested for the New Zealand Test series also return but Jofra Archer, Ben Stokes, and Reece Topley are all missing due to injury.

The full squad is as follows:

Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (c), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), Chris Jordan (Sussex), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham). 

England get their three-match IT20 series against Sri Lanka underway on the 23rd of June in Cardiff, with special focus on the shortest international format due to the T20 World Cup scheduled for later this year.

Three ODIs will follow from the 29th of June, with the squad announcement for that series expected in due course.