England have named their 16-player squad for the upcoming ODI series against Sri Lanka, with Sussex seamer George Garton called up for the first time.

The three-match ODI series gets underway at the Riverside in Durham on Tuesday the 29th of June series, following the end of the three-match T20 series that starts on Wednesday the 23rd of June.

The squad for the T20s was revealed earlier this month and the ECB have now announced the 16 players selected by head coach Chris Silverwood for the 50-over contests.

Gareth Copley/Getty Images Sport

The full squad is as follows: Eoin Morgan (Middlesex) (c), Moeen Ali (Worcestershire), Jonny Bairstow (Yorkshire), Sam Billings (Kent), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Tom Curran (Surrey), Liam Dawson (Hampshire), George Garton (Sussex), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Jason Roy (Surrey), David Willey (Yorkshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), and Mark Wood (Durham).

After the series gets underway at the Riverside in Durham on the 29th of June, the two sides will meet at the Oval for the second game on the 1st of July before playing the final game in Bristol on the 4th of July.

As part of England’s rest and rotation system, Silverwood will not be in charge for the Sri Lanka ODI series with assistant coach Graham Thorpe taking his place.

Charlie Crowhurst/Getty Images Sport

Jofra Archer, Reece Topley, and Ben Stokes are all missing due to injury issues, though the latter did return to action for Durham in the T20 Blast today.

Their absences mean that Garton is in the running to make his England debut, with the 24-year-old left-arm quick having caught the eye with his performances for Sussex – including taking eight wickets in the first four games of the 2021 T20 Blast.

Keen to get involved with the Barmy Army this summer? Click here to join as a member and here to buy tickets